Home > Catalogue > Annali di Ca’ Foscari. Serie orientale > 50 | 2014 > Ethnicity and Nationalism on the Northeastern Frontier

Ethnicity and Nationalism on the Northeastern Frontier

New Scenarios and Alternative Future for the China-India Disputed Border

Stefano Beggiora    Università Ca’ Foscari Venezia, Italia    



The Seven Sisters states are a region in the Northeastern India frontier comprising the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura. After the 1962 Sino-Indian war, China raised territorial claims on this wild region, rich in resources and featured by a strategic position. If China considers those areas be part of the national territory, due to an ethno-linguistic continuity of some people who live there, nevertheless the backbone of the region consists of an environment dense of historical and cultural elements that belong to India and, indeed, that go beyond its boundaries.

Dec. 1, 2014
Copyright: © 2014 Stefano Beggiora. This is an open-access work distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY). The use, distribution or reproduction is permitted, provided that the original author(s) and the copyright owner(s) are credited and that the original publication is cited, in accordance with accepted academic practice. The license allows for commercial use. No use, distribution or reproduction is permitted which does not comply with these terms.